He restoreth my soul.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

awkward sitcom moments December 5, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — restorethmysoul @ 3:55 pm

So we had our consultation appointment yesterday, and without saying too much that may embarrass the hubby, there were definitely some awkward moments.  Let’s just say that I giggled a lot haha.

But GREAT news came today from the tests — sperm count is above normal! That is a turnaround from the last round of testing, so praise God.  That means that we can have 3-4 months of non-IUI (intra-uterine-insemination) cycles!  Here is the plan that P and I came up with with the help of our RE (Reproductive Endocrinologist), Dr. Moore:

3-4 cycles of Clomid (mild fertility drug) using “regular” intercourse. (About December – March).

3-4 cycles of Clomid using IUI. (About April – July).

3-4 cycles of more intense (injectable – ew!) fertility drugs using IUI (About August – whenever).

So that gives us up to a year! Dr. Moore was very optimistic that with the “package” that we have (pcos – polycystic ovarian syndrome, but young age and healthy body weight, good looking uterus and tubes, haha) that the IUI’s and heavier fertility drugs should be the maximum that we would have to go through, ie. no IVF (In-vitro fertilization).  That is good, because P and I are still very unsure about how we feel with IVF.  So this plan gives us at least a year to really pray and determine how we feel about it as well as to discuss adoption.

So thats the plan in a nut shell.  Dr. Moore gave me provera to make my period come, as it was being very stubborn this month, so I should be starting the Clomid and having my ultrasound to see how many follicles (eggs) it creates around the 22nd or 23rd — meaning we should have a fun Christmas trying!

I will post again sometime after the ultrasound — if you want to hear a really funny story about our consultation visit that I think would be too embarrassing to P for me to post, just ask me and I’ll email you or tell you in person!

Also, I wanted to add, that I really am feeling very at peace and optimistic about this and P is feeling the same way.  We will see how I feel as we begin to get negative pregnancy tests, but  I am trying to trust that the Lord will sustain us.

 

4 Responses to “awkward sitcom moments”

  1. I never even asked you if you want to receive comments … If not, just delete this. I’m so excited that you have some definite steps to take and that you two are encouraged about the process. I have a friend who was successful with IUI but not the first time so don’t give up. You are in my prayers!

  2. twondra Says:

    I found you through L&F at Stirrups. I’m a Christian woman who is going through IF. We’ve had 12 IUIs and recently had a failed IVF. I love meeting Christian women going through IF. I hope it’s okay I follow your journey. 🙂 If you have any questions, please ask. I’ll leave the blog address for my blog for you if you would like.

    Good luck sweetie! I know it’s such a hard journey. I’m thinking of you. (((HUGS)))

    Tammy
    http://www.twondra.blogspot.com

  3. Meridith Says:

    Isn’t it great to have a plan!!

    I know you didn’t ask for advice, so do with this what you will… I’m sure you’ve read about the possible side effects of clomid. I have to tell you, it turned me into a total crazy person! I tell you this not to scare you, but to share what I wish I had known. If you experience the crazies on clomid, ask to change to femara. And don’t be afraid of the injectables!! They have less side effects and worked WAY better for me!! And the shots are SO easy to give to yourself!!

    I share all of this because my OB/GYN wouldn’t move forward until I tried 6 cycles on clomid. By cycle 3 I was a raving lunatic, and by the end of cycle 5 my marriage was suffering. We took 6 months off before having the guts to find a new doctor and trying again. I hope that by sharing our experience that maybe others can avoid some of the unnecessary heartache… isn’t this journey hard enough without bearing the side effects of crazy drugs??

    I also wanted to thank you for visiting my blog! I’m adding you to my blog roll 🙂

  4. restorethmysoul Says:

    Thanks meridith for the advice…i will definitely take it into consideration. We actually tried one month of Femara back in June, before deciding that we wanted to take some time off before we further pursued treatments. The reason why the doctor chose to go with Clomid this time is because the Femara only produced two follicles, where they are really wanting there to be three or four. But I will definitely see how I feel on Clomid and I’m sure my RE will put me back on the Femara if Clomid makes me crazy! I will keep you posted!


Leave a Reply

