He restoreth my soul.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

On my way to the wishin’ well December 22, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — restorethmysoul @ 4:54 pm

So..bad news today.

I had my 14 day ultrasound and was met with the news that the clomid did not work.  I had no follicles that were over the size of 8mm (they like them to be over 10mm).  So basically, I won’t ovulate this month.  Which means that I spent about $150.00 this month to assist my body in doing what it already does on its own — not work.

The nurse mentioned injectables, but I think I will ask to be put back on letrizol (femara) because I at least know that medecine gave me two follicles back in june.

As to why the Clomid didn’t work, the nurse thought maybe it was because I had been off of the Metformin for about 3 weeks when I ran out, or just that Clomid won’t work for me.  I felt stupid, so I didn’t tell her this, but I think it may be because I started taking it too early.  I didn’t really hear Dr. M when he told me that the first day of my cycle is not the first day of spotting.  I always spot for about 3 days and then go into a full cycle.  So I called in and told them my first day was on about day 2 of the spotting — so maybe, just maybe I may have screwed the whole thing up by my own actions this time.  That being said, that is why I do not want to take injectables yet.  A kind commenter told me not to be scared of injectables, but I can’t help it.  I just really pray that I don’t have to get that far.

So, thats that.  I will keep you posted as to what decisions are made after I start my next cycle.  I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday and gets some good rest and maybe some BFP’s (big fat positive pregnancy tests)!

 

7 Responses to “On my way to the wishin’ well”

  1. Emmy Says:

    Im so sorry the clomid didnt work! Maybe get back on the metformin and femara paired together and that will work for you! Ive heard a few success stories from PCOS ladies with that combo! Good luck!

  2. restorethmysoul Says:

    thanks, i think thats what we will do, so keep your fingers crossed!

  3. Stefanie Says:

    I’m so sorry it didn’t work out the way you plan. Keep faith though, and may 2009 be the year where wishes comes true

  4. Meridith Says:

    I say to have lots of **fun** for the next few days just in case you really are just too early for the follie check!!

    Also, injectables are so not bad!! For me the side effects were MUCH less than clomid or femera… and they really are not a big deal to give to yourself!! The needle is so tiny that you really don’t even feel it!!

    My last bit of advice is to check with your insurance to see if they have a mail order pharmacy… it has saved me SO much money on our fertility drugs!!

    Good luck and lots of prayers!!

  5. restorethmysoul Says:

    thanks ladies…i will have lots of fun and pray that i will have a christmas miracle after all! thanks for the info about injectables, i may have to just start believing that they arent that bad!

  6. Tammy Says:

    I’m so sorry sweetie. I hope things work out for you

  7. s.e. Says:

    Sorry this is belated. A cancelled cycle is never fun. It flat out sucks. I hope you are beginning to accept it and move on at this point. Will the clinic let you try clomid again? It takes me months to figure out how my body reacts to each new regimen. Maybe it is still worth another try.

    I understand where you are coming from with injectables being a big step. I was there and I can tell you, it gets easier. Certainly sticking yourself in the stomach is surreal but not nearly as scary as you imagine. (Go back and read my post from Feb. 19. It may ease your mind even more.) Wishing you the best as you make future plans!


Leave a Reply

