He restoreth my soul.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

so this is the new year… January 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — restorethmysoul @ 8:34 pm

Ive been reading some really incredible and encouraging new years blogs by a lot of you ladies and so felt compelled to write one of my own.  I’m feeling quite strange today, the first day of 2009, so I’m not sure how this entry will turn out…

2008 was a trial.  That is the best word I can use to describe this past year.  It was a trial for me, it was a trial for my husband and I am glad to see it go.  Yet I can’t really have the same sort of New Year excitement that some have — yes, it is a new year, but today is just the day after yesterday, and the day before tomorrow.  A day like any other.  Yet it is also a day in which I need to again say, “Thank You Lord” and learn to praise Him despite the trials and even for the trials.  Last night as we were sitting with dear friends and singing Hey Jude like we like to do (you are all missing out for not having heard our rendition), I was trying to discern how I was feeling.  I have spent this past year feeling so cold to the Lord due to many reasons, IF being the major reason, my husband’s high stress job and not having any real close friends (bosom buddies as I like to call them, thanks Anne of Green Gables) are a close second.  But 2009 has been rung in with WONDERFUL friends, friends that I know came directly from God, and 2009 will also bring the end of P’s job.  So, those are two already wonderful things about 2009.

Who knows if 2009 will bring a pregnancy and a baby.  That is what I desperately pray and wish for, as I know many of you are praying and wishing for the same. As I learn to lie down in green pastures with my Saviour, as I learn to go to Him with my desires and not expect a cold, hard “no”, I also know that I need to learn to love Him and thank Him even if I do receive a “no”.  SO, its time to go watch football (ew) with some of those previously mentioned bosom buddies, but here’s my glass raised, toasting to 2009 and hoping for a resounding “YES” from God to my deepest desire.  

Again, thank you all, all you wonderful fellow bloggers and those few of you who I actually know who read this — you are all wonderful encouragements to me, and I hope to continue to encourage and be encouraged throughout 2009.

 

11 Responses to “so this is the new year…”

  1. Hillary Says:

    I’m happy to hear that 2 out of 3 of your stressers are out of the picture for 2009! 🙂 Hoping a baby comes along for both of us this year, too, but more importantly that we will grow in our love and trust of our Saviour…!!

  2. Tammy Says:

    I hope and pray 2009 is your year. Thinking of you. (((HUGS)))

  3. restorethmysoul Says:

    agreed hillary, thanks for that! also, hillary and tammy, i will be praying for both of you that this is your year too!

  4. Meridith Says:

    Thank you so much for posting this… I’ve had so many of your same feelings and so desperately need to find a way to look for the positives in 2009.

    (((hugs)))

  5. restorethmysoul Says:

    meridith – i feel you — its so good to know there are others out there with our same perspectives — lets pray that we both have a positive ’09!

  6. B Says:

    Hi. I understand the difficulty you are facing, as I am also going through infertility as well. I could not help noticing that you are praying for a “yes” from the Lord. I am a lifelong Catholic, but only recently have been discovering the power of the Word. I recall coming across a Bible passage that says that God’s answer to us is always “yes”. Perhaps he has already said “yes” to you?

    2 Corinthians 1: 18-20
    18But as surely as God is faithful, our message to you is not “Yes” and “No.” 19For the Son of God, Jesus Christ, who was preached among you by me and Silas[b] and Timothy, was not “Yes” and “No,” but in him it has always been “Yes.” 20For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ.

    Praying that we each become mothers this year!

  7. Stefanie Says:

    Hi there,

    wanted to wish you a very happy New Year, may this year be your best ever, and I hope and pray that you will be blessed with love, laughter and a family you so deeply desire.

  8. restorethmysoul Says:

    Thanks Stefanie – the same to you too!!

  9. Jess Says:

    It is some times difficult to always be thankful: There is a quote that I head through Carol Lewis about “giving thanks IN all situations, not FOR all situations”: That’s something that I always try to keep in mind when things get tough and I am angry at God: It also helps to know that even when we’re angry with Him, He loves us and will forgive us.

    Happy New Year! and May this year hold numerous blessings and joys!

  10. Hillary Says:

    Just letting you know I tagged you!

  11. the misfit Says:

    I love this post – this is one of the great hurdles I’ve faced with IF. In other trials in my life (not all of them), my faith has been strong enough to accept that God thought I could handle this suffering and will see me through it. But with IF, I can’t help feeling betrayed, and have at some level stopped believing that he would even listen to prayers for a baby (which I haven’t prayed for in ages). That’s something I want to work on in the new year also – not just to say the words, but really to believe that He’s listening.

    Thanks for being out here!


Leave a Reply

