He restoreth my soul.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

facebook anyone? February 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — restorethmysoul @ 2:35 pm

I just felt the need to vent for a second, so just give me a minute here, ok? i think i’m going to suspend my facebook.  there’s the obvious reason that it takes up too much of my time at work and its extremely addicting.  but theres another, more potent reason for my facebook hate right now…

its the ultrasound pictures used as photo ids, that you have to see everytime a blurb about that person comes up

its the status updates that center SOLELY around a pregnancy and how wonderful (or sometimes awful) it is to be a mom and be pregnant, etc etc.

its the fact that i have been so tempted to message a couple people that i barely even know and tell them how their statuses and their ultrasound pictures feel like a dagger in my heart.  i know thats not wise, and im not going to do it, but i think i need to suspend facebook.

what about you? have you felt this way, have you stopped using facebook or myspace for the same reason? any advice on a way to deal with it and still use facebook?

 

10 Responses to “facebook anyone?”

  1. Tammy Says:

    Oh my goodness, I totally understand! It’s been really, really hard for me lately. (((HUGS)))

  2. Meridith Says:

    I’m actually pretty quick to delete someone if their pics or status updates start to bother me. Pg, kids, whatever it is… especially if it is not someone that I’m close to.

    I use FB to keep in touch with friends, so if it is not someone I am messaging/commenting with then I’m not too worried about it.

    So sorry you have been hurt by this… it is hard, but do what you need to do to protect your heart. (((hugs)))

  3. dreambaby Says:

    I’m so sorry you’re experiencing this. I’m not a FB person, in fact, very new to blogging. But I do remember coming across things/people that were offensive to me for various reasons when I used MySpace. I agree with Meridith. Delete those people and never look back. You don’t need to be agressive in letting them know how hurtful you find it, just leave.
    Sending hugs….

  4. Stefanie Says:

    I know exactly how you feel as I have come across so many ultrasound pictures it’s really scary. I have to be honest and say that I made piece with the fact that there might be people out there who is more fortunate than what I am, and I really am happy for them, a few of the people I have come across has also find it difficult to conceive. I suppose one day when the table turns I will also be one of the people who would love to share my ultrasound pictures with my friends and family via facebook, and knowing this, I deal with the fact that the other ladies are privileged to do this now….

    Thinking of you while you find a way to deal with this!

  5. restorethmysoul Says:

    thanks for all the wonderful advice ladies…i quit facebook for about 2 days until I realized how many people I need to talk to who I don’t have any other way to reach haha. i think i may take Meridith’s advice and just block a couple of people for now, while I am happy for them in their pregnant bliss, it is just too much for me to be bombarded with right now.

    Thanks for stopping by dreambaby, I’ve added your blog to my reader and to my blog roll on here!

  6. Mrs. Gamgee Says:

    I gave up on facebook a while ago, because no matter how tried to set it up, I couldn’t stop my friends from sending me garbage emails through it. I realize that it’s a great way to stay in touch, but I just got sick of getting 20 emails from the same person sending me a ‘beer’ or a ‘fun wall post’.

    ICLW

  7. You wrote this awhile ago, so today I hope you’re feeling more at peace. I’m sorry you’re having to go through this, it sucks. I’m thinking about ya and sending you hugs.

  8. restorethmysoul Says:

    again, thank you all for your encouragement. i quit facebook for awhile, but have gotten back on and blocked a couple of people who have bothered me.

  9. Erin Says:

    Here from ICLW. I wanted to comment on this post though. I recently started a face book page and yes, am pregnant. I however knowing how difficult it can be for others (I have a friend starting IVF and one that lost a child at 20 weeks about a month ago) never post stuff about my pregnancy. I don’t have any pictures or statuses etc. I know how hard it would have been for me to see these over and over.

    I hope that you find a way to deal with these images by blocking those people for a while or by limiting their content on your page. I couldn’t give it up, I’m obsessed with Pathwords.

  10. restorethmysoul Says:

    thanks erin, its really good to hear that there are people out there who understand…hopefully there will be more of them some day! i love pathwords too!


Leave a Reply

