He restoreth my soul.

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Clinical Trial April 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — restorethmysoul @ 5:38 pm

Ok, so here is some possibly exciting news:

I did a little googling to see if there were any IF clinical trials going on in Chicago right now, since that is where we will be moving.  I found the Fertility Center of Illinois (the 2nd largets Fertility clinic in the U.S.) and found out that they were doing a study involving PCOS women.  So I put in my info, not really expecting to hear back.  This morning I got a phone call from a super nice lady and she told me all about the study.  She asked me a bunch of questions and told me that I qualified.  Sounds perfect, right?

Well, the catch is that the study involves IVF.  We haven’t even had a chance to try IUI’s yet, so IVF has not even been on my radar.  Actually P and I have not really even discussed how we feel about the procedure ethically and otherwise.  BUT, with the trial, if I don’t have insurance (which I probably won’t when we move, at least until I get a job),  we could do the whole shebang (except for the drugs, we would pay for those separately) for $5,000.  So we would get a whole cycle of IVF for pretty much 1/2 price or even less then that really.

So P and I have a lot to talk about.  I went ahead and scheduled a consultation for when we go up there in April, just because that will covered by my current insurance, and hey, why not?  Illinois is state mandated to have IF insurance, so even if I don’t do the study, eventually, hopefully, I will have the coverage to do IF stuff again, and I would want to try out this clinic anyway.  They nice lady on the phone said that the doctor she was scheduling my consultation with has been on Oprah and everything!

So, pretty exciting I guess, but I’m so unsure…I would really LOVE and appreciate your advice or comments on this!

 

7 Responses to “Clinical Trial”

  1. twondra Says:

    Wow! That’s actually exciting news! Having gone through IVF and 12 IUIs, I can tell you that I would’ve just skipped the IUIs and gone straight to IVF. The chances are sooooo much better and it’s really not as bad as people think. In fact, I would actually love to do it again.

    As far as the ethical part of it, I had a big issue with it. I was totally against it at first. But, I talked to a minister about some concerns and other people and that really helped me. If you want to hear what the minister said, i can forward that to you. Just let me know. It is a really hard decision and one you need to be comfortable with to know that it’s what God wants you to do.

    Follow your heart sweetie. If you think it’s good, definitely go for it. But if your heart is holding you back, there is a reason.

    Keep us posted!!

  2. restorethmysoul Says:

    tammy – i would love that information, please email it to me at:
    his.whisper.divine@gmail.com.

    Thanks for the great advice!

  3. Hillary Says:

    That is an exciting possibility! Financially, $5,000 for an IVF cycle sounds great, since many people do multiple IUI’s and exceed that amount — and IVF has better success rates.

    I am undecided about IVF as well — I think for most of us we just figure we’ll decide when we get there, huh? So it looks like you’re there — good luck thinking and praying about the decision!

  4. B MoM Says:

    wow! maybe God is opening a window for you!!! check it out…at least go for the consultation. =)

  5. Emmy Says:

    OMG I WOULD DO IT IN A HEARTBEAT!

    That is such an awesome opportunity! I would totally jump right in if there was one close to me!

  6. Laura Wimberly Says:

    You may find this site helpful for clinical trial searches.

    This is a search for IVF clinical trials that are either recruiting or not yet recruiting:

    http://www.fdable.com/clinical_trials/advanced_query/1a86c1ea67ce

  7. restorethmysoul Says:

    thanks for all the helpful comments ladies…i have the consultation on April 29th and I will update you as we make a decision!


Leave a Reply

